Up at altitude…

Recently I allowed myself a hike up to altitude. Up early to beat the heat and the rush, and to greet the crepuscular wildlife. (I was treated to a mother Moose and her young twin offspring feeding at the trailhead for that decision.)

Above tree-line I found a spot to sit over some cliffs and watch and listen to the the Whistle Pigs (Marmots) and Pika on the rocks below, and in the scree behind. It was idyllic with the early morning sun sparkling off water running down the rocks, through bright green carpets of moss, and tumbling down to the valley far below. It felt like a little corner of Colorado paradise, sitting high in the world.

Merlin-Sitting-Tall
Spot the Merlin – sitting tall…

First I noted a (first for me) Merlin hunting the bowl-shaped cliffs. I spotted the movement and immediately lost her as she dived down behind and onto some alpine tundra (maybe after a bug or small critter.) Later I found her sitting tall on a rock – surveying the scene below – eyeing for targets. I was able to watch her for a long while before she floated past me and away. That made my day.

Over a Pika-filled scree field I watched (in some amazement) as a Harrier floated low over the rocks, turned sharply and hovered a few times, and seemed to be hunting for Pika. I think of Harrier as flatlander birds (more at home on grasslands or marshes) but it was a pretty distinctive sight. Cool behavior.

On the way down a Golden Eagle flew past, then worked down the valley over the treetops. A Golden Eagle sighting always makes for a good day, but three raptors, each successively larger, felt like a gift of a day. I was right to make the time for the hike.

There were also many hard working & tough little birds up there. LBJs to my eye, but inspiring for their endeavors.

I wasn’t expecting a birding day, but I was treated to a special one.

 

High-Altitude-Spot

Leave a comment